Anthony Banks

Directing includes: Steel Magnolias by Robert Harling (Rose Kingston); Dial M for Murder by Frederick Knott (National Tour); My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier adapted by Joseph O’Connor (Theatre Royal Bath); The Girl on the Train by Rachel Wagstaff & Duncan Abel based on the novel by Paula Hawkins (National Tour); Games For Lovers by Ryan Craig (The Vaults Theatre London); Hogarth’s Progress by Nick Dear (Rose Kingston); Strangers On A Train by Craig Warner based on the novel by Patricia Highsmith (ATG/Smith&Brant); Twilight Song by Kevin Elyot (Park Theatre); Gaslight by Patrick Hamilton  (ATG/Smith&Brant); After Miss Julie by Patrick Marber (Theatre Royal Bath & National Tour);  Raz by Jim Cartwright (Trafalgar Studios, Assembly Edinburgh & National Tour);  Sweet Charity by Cy Coleman, Dorothy Fields & Neil Simon (Embassy CSSD);  More Light by Bryony Lavery;  The Eternal Not by Lucinda Coxon and Prince Of Denmark by Michael Lesslie (National Theatre); Pignight by Snoo Wilson (Menier Chocolate Factory); The Experiment by Mark Ravenhill (Soho Theatre & Berliner Ensemble);  Herding Cats by Lucinda Coxon (Theatre Royal Bath & Hampstead Theatre); Bassett by James Graham (Bristol Old Vic); DNA by Dennis Kelly (National Tour); ReWrite by Tosin Omosebi (Westminster Hall and National Theatre); Cesario by Bryony Lavery (World Shakespeare Festival, National Theatre and Tate Modern); The Hotel Plays by Tennessee Williams (Grange & Langham Hotels, London).

Associate Director at the National Theatre 2004 – 2014 commissioning and developing scripts for NT Connections written by: Samuel Adamson, Davey Anderson, Alia Bano, Hilary Bell, Helen Blakeman, William Boyd, Howard Brenton, Jamie Brittain, Deborah Bruce, Jim Cartwright, Katherine Chandler, Noel Clarke, Elinor Cook, Lucinda Coxon, Ryan Craig, Molly Davies, Katie Douglas, Nick Drake, Tim Etchells, Georgia Fitch, James Graham, Stacey Gregg, Carl Grose, Katori Hall, Nancy Harris, Matt Hartley, Jonathan Harvey, Lenny Henry, Craig Higginson, Christopher William Hill, Sam Holcroft, Anthony Horowitz, Dafydd James, Catherine Johnson, Cush Jumbo, Jemma Kennedy, Ayub Khan Din, Bryony Lavery, Michael Lesslie, Nell Leyshon, Anders Lustgarten, Sabrina Mahfouz, David Mamet, Patrick Marber, Douglas Maxwell, Alistair McDowall, Lisa McGee, Pauline McLynn, Conor Mitchell, Rory Mullarkey, Anthony Neilson, Luke Norris, Lizzie Nunnery, Ben Ockrent, Eugene O’Hare, Morna Pearson, Evan Placey, Ben Power, Anya Reiss, Steven Sater, Duncan Sheik, Kellie Smith, Stef Smith, Sarah Solemani, Meera Syal, Simon Vinnicombe, Paven Virk and Samir Yazbek.

Leads workshops on directing new plays and contributes to books and journals about theatre.

Studied English at Kings College London and trained as a director at RADA.

Anthony is represented by Adam Maskell at Curtis Brown. [email protected]